Knowledgebase: Settings
How Do I Upgrade My 3dcart Plan?

Upgrading or Downgrading your 3dcart Plan

You may need to upgrade or downgrade your 3dcart plan to meet the evolving needs of your business. This is easy to do at any time, and this article will explain the details.

Upgrading to a higher-tier plan:

Your 3dcart store is designed to grow with your business as soon as you need it to, so upgrades take place immediately.*

  1. Log into your 3dcart Online Store Manager
  2. From the admin dashboard, look to the bottom right of the left hand navigation menu and click on the $ icon
  3. Next, under Current Plan, click on the "Change Plan" button
  4. The "Change Plan Order Form" allows to Choose a New Plan and/or to specify a New Agreement
  5. Under the "Choose a New Plan" section, select your desired plan. For example "Power Plan"
  6. Click "Preview Order" to review all the details.
  7. Check the "I agree" section.
  8. Click on "Submit Order"

*Please Note
Upgrading from the Small Business Plans to the Enterprise Plans may take up to 48 hours due to the amount of extended features available on the High Traffic Plans.

Prorated Fees

There is no fee for the upgrade process itself, but you will see a prorated fee added to your next bill. Your 3dcart hosting plan is based on a prepaid billing term, and this prorated fee is applied in order to make up the pricing difference between the plan you prepaid for, and the plan to which you upgraded. Our billing department simply calculates the price difference between your old and new plan for the number of days until the end of the current billing cycle. For example:

  • A customer on the Mini Plan is paying $19.99/month.
  • The customer upgrades to the Professional Plan (priced at $65.99/month) halfway through the month (15 days before the end of the billing cycle).
  • $19.99 divided by 30 days = a daily rate of $0.67
  • $65.99 divided by 30 days = a daily rate of $2.20
  • $2.20 (a day on the Professional Plan) minus $0.67 (a day on the Mini Plan) = $1.53 difference between the plans.
  • $1.53 times the 15 days remaining in the current billing cycle = a prorated fee of $22.95

This example customer's next monthly bill would amount to $88.94, including $65.99 for the next month of the Professional Plan, plus the prorated $22.95 fee to cover the difference between the plans for the second half of the billing cycle during which the customer upgraded. Assuming no further changes are made and the customer remains on the Professional Plan, the next bill would return to the normal monthly rate of $65.99.


Downgrading to a lower-tier plan:

While upgrading is immediate, downgrading takes effect at the beginning of your next billing cycle. This gives you time to plan your downgrade and scale down your store so that it does not exceed any of the limits allowed by the lower-tier plan to which you are downgrading.

  1. Log into your 3dcart Online Store Manager
  2. From the admin dashboard, look to the bottom right of the left hand navigation menu and click on the $ icon
  3. Next, under Current Plan, click on the "Change Plan" button
  4. The "Change Plan Order Form" allows to Choose a New Plan and/or to specify a New Agreement
  5. Under the "Choose a New Plan" section, select your desired plan. For example "Mini Plan"
  6. Click "Preview Order" to review all the details.
  7. Check the "I agree" section.
  8. Click on "Submit Order"

Precautions

Before downgrading, make sure your store does not contain too many products for your chosen lower-tier plan. If you attempt to downgrade to a plan which cannot contain all your store's products, you will receive an error message and must delete products until your store is under the limit.

You should also check the other limits of the plan you downgrade to so you can make an informed decision, such as ensuring that your new bandwidth limit will be adequate for the traffic your store receives.


Help Desk Software by Kayako fusion